The California State Bar is looking for an attorney who is a self-employee who works for the following employers: A law firm, a health insurance company, a retirement plan, a food service provider, a pharmacy, a funeral home, or a public housing agency.
The attorneys must be registered with the State Bar of California, and have completed the Self Employed Mortgage Exam.
The exam includes an assessment of the applicant’s knowledge, skills, and abilities.
The bar requires that an applicant complete a series of examinations in order to become certified as an employee.
An application for certification is due by June 6, 2019.
If you are self- employed and would like to be certified, please contact the State bar of California.
The State Bar has not certified any self-employment attorneys since 2015.
To be certified as a self employed mortgage attorney, the applicant must meet the following criteria: Be employed by one of the following: A financial institution that offers credit and/or debit cards to its members.
A law office.
A health insurance or retirement plan.
A private, non-profit entity.
If a law office, the attorney must be an attorney employed by the office.
Be a resident of the state of California for at least three months in a given year.
The attorney must have at least 25 years of experience in law or a related field in the field of self-managed mortgage, and at least four years of full-time experience in the area of mortgage law.
The self-Employed Mortgage License will be issued to the self-paid attorney upon certification, which must be completed in person.
This is a minimum requirement, but not required.
You may be eligible for certification if you have: 1.
Completed a minimum of eight hours of training, including the Self Employment Licensing Test.
Completed the State and Federal Self Employer Licensing Exam.
Completed at least two hours of certification training.
Received at least 10 passing grades in the State Mortgage Examination.
Received the Self Mortgage License Certificate.
The certification will be valid for a period of one year from the date of certification, and may be renewed for a further period of two years.
You must submit a photocopy of your certificate of licensure and proof of registration.
If your certification expires, you must apply for a new certificate of certification.
If the applicant has completed the certification training, but the certification is not renewed, you will be required to reapply for certification.
There are two certification tests for self-funded mortgages.
The first requires the applicant to submit a statement that he/she has no current or past debt on file with the bank or mortgage servicer and that the bank has no liability for any loan on file.
The statement must be provided to the lender within 10 days of receipt.
The second test requires the lender to send a statement to the State Board of Equalization stating that the applicant is a current or former member of the California State Association of Realtors and that he or she has filed a current certificate of registration in the last three years.
The applicant must have completed a minimum number of hours of certifying, or at least five hours of qualifying as a certified employee, for each test.
In the case of self funded mortgages, the state bar will only certify the self funded mortgage, not the state regulated home equity line of credit.
The state bar is also looking for applicants who: Have a minimum net worth of $50,000 or less.
Have not been arrested in California in the past three years, and are not on probation.
Are not a fugitive from justice in California.
Are over the age of 18 and have not been convicted of a felony in the state.
Are eligible to work as a public safety officer, an attorney, a nurse, or an occupational therapist.
The Attorney General’s Office will provide an additional certification to those applicants who meet the requirements for certification in the other state.
Qualifications: The State bar is looking to have the following experience in self-owned and/ or self-finance.
The skills and qualifications for certification must be aligned with the state’s requirements for self regulated mortgages.
An associate’s degree in the areas of finance, credit, or accounting.
The following certifications will qualify you for certification: A bachelor’s degree or equivalent in law, economics, or business, and/ OR: a graduate degree from an accredited college or university in the following fields: Accounting, Business, Business Management, Public Administration, Psychology, Public Health, Political Science, Social Work, or Psychology.
The certifications must be obtained prior to or concurrently with your application for a self regulated mortgage license.
If certification is denied, you may reapply to the bar for a certification of a different kind.
If an applicant who is qualified for a certificate of licensing fails to meet all the requirements of the certification exam, the State Attorney General may