Employers who pay their employees below the state’s minimum wage must also pay at least 15 percent of their wages toward the cost of hiring and training the workers.
The legislation passed a House committee late Tuesday.
It now goes to Gov.
John Kasich, who has not yet weighed in.
The law was signed by Kasich, a Republican, in March and sets forth requirements for businesses that employ more than 25 people.
It requires employers to provide paid sick leave, paid family leave and other benefits.
The law also requires the state to adopt a new federal minimum wage law that would raise it to $15 an hour by 2022.
“We need to be in a place where we are going to attract people to the state,” Kasich told reporters after signing the bill.
“And that’s what this legislation is about.”
Ohio employers must hire at least 25 percent of wages toward paying for workers.
Employers who provide minimum wage under the state law must pay 15 percent for all state employees, regardless of whether they are part-time, full-time or contract employees.
The bill also requires them to provide employees with health insurance.
Kasich’s office did not immediately respond to a request for comment.
The measure comes after a number of other states have implemented minimum wage increases.
Scott Walker and Minnesota Gov.
Mark Dayton, two Republicans, have also supported raising the state minimum wage.
The House approved the bill after Democrats objected.
The measure is expected to be signed by the governor.
The Ohio Chamber of Commerce and Industry had opposed the bill, saying it would increase the cost to the business community.
“It would require employers to pay their workers less and it would mean lower paychecks to small businesses,” said the chamber’s president, Dave Smith.